2016 · commercial fiction · fiction · new reads · October · Penguin Random House UK · psychological thrillers · Sphere · Uncategorized

October’s 2016 reading list: Thrillers

https://allthingsbooksweb.files.wordpress.com/2016/10/october-reading-thrillers-theprimrose-path-i-see-you-dear-amy-all-things-books-blog-img_1402.jpg?w=663There are lots of great new books out this month, which I will get around to reading at some point. But for now, I’m catching up on some previous 2016 psychological thriller releases that I’ve been dying to get my hands on. There’s nothing like being completely consumed by a good read and I desire nothing more. A big amazon parcel was delivered this morning and nothing makes my heart skip a beat than hearing the postman ring the doorbell. Knowing my books have arrived, it’s a race with myself (without tripping) to the front door.

This month, I’ll be reading Helen Callaghan’s psychological thriller, Dear Amy. This is Callaghan’s debut novel, which was published Michael Joseph, an imprint of Penguin Random House. A very to-the-point-blurb, which attracted me to reading this title.

 

Dear Amy,

Please help me.

 

I’ve been kidnapped by a strange man.

He says I can never go home.

I don’t know where I am.

I don’t even know how long I’ve been gone.

I’m afraid people will stop looking for me.

I’m afraid that he’ll kill me.

There isn’t must time left.

Please find me.

Up next is Clare Mackintosh’s psychological thriller, I SEE YOU, which was published by Sphere, an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group that belongs to Hachette. Due to the many five star ratings, I wanted to experience reading the story for myself. Blurb below.

You do the same thing every day.

You know exactly where you’re going.

You’re not alone.

 

When Zoe Walker sees her photo in the classifieds section of a London newspaper, she is determined to find out why it’s there. There’s no explanation; just a grainy image, a website and a phone number. She takes it home to her family, who are convinced it’s just someone who looks like Zoe. But the next day the advert shows a photo of a different woman, and another the day after that.

Is it a mistake? A coincidence? Or is someone keeping track of every move they make . . .

https://allthingsbooksweb.files.wordpress.com/2016/10/october-reading-list-thrillers-all-things-books-blog-img_1405.jpg?w=663

Up third, I’ve got my copy of suspense thriller, The Primrose Path by Rebecca Griffiths, which is also published by Sphere, an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group.

 

Haunted by her past. In danger from her present.

Isolated, alone, vulnerable.

Sometimes the danger is closer than you think.

As a teenager, Sarah D’Villez famously escaped a man who abducted and held her hostage for eleven days. The case became notorious, with Sarah’s face splashed across the front of every newspaper in the country.

Now, seventeen years later, that man is about to be released from prison. Fearful of the media storm that is sure to follow, Sarah decides to flee to rural Wales under a new identity, telling nobody where she’s gone.

Settling into the small community she is now part of, Sarah soon realises that someone is watching her. Someone who seems to know everything about her . . .

Ohhh, can’t wait to get reading. Reviews coming soon!

 

Leave a Reply

